The 2017 Primary Club Matchplay Tournament

The Matchplay Tournament is sponsored by The Primary Club, they have been sponsoring this event for many years.  The tournament is played for the Lew Vizzard Knockout Trophy, this trophy was given to EWBG back in 1986 and sadly Lew passed away a few years ago.  We held the event at Gaudet Luce Golf Club who have been great supporters to EWBG for nearly 20 years.

We started the event with the draw on Sunday night everyone gathered in the Clubhouse waiting with anticipation to see who they were drawn against.

Monday saw the first round and the finals the weather was rainy most of the time.  Tuesday morning was the quarter finals and the Stableford Plate for those knocked out in the first round, with the semi final in the afternoon.  The weather was worse with rain and howling wind.  Wednesday morning for the Final between Steve Beevers, guided by Ian Tyrer, and Jason Heathfield, guided by Magda Buckley.  What a difference in the weather, blue skies and sunshine, not a waterproof in sight.  It was a very tense final with both players playing well and finished on the 17th with Steve winning 2 and 1.


2017 Matchplay Winner Steve Beevers

2017 Primary Club Matchplay Tournament Winner Steve Beevers receiving his trophy

2017 Matchplay Runner up Jason Heathfield

2017 Primary Club Matchplay Tournament Runner Up Jason Heathfield receiving his trophy

The Primary Club Matchplay Results

First RoundResultQuarter FinalResultSemi FinalResultFinalResult
John Eakin
Steve Beevers1 UPSteve Beevers2 & 1Steve Beevers5 & 3Steve Beevers2 & 1
Ron Tomlinson5 & 4Ron Tomlinson
Bryan Richards
Derek Field
Peter Osborne3 & 2Peter Osborne
Nick Burr
Peter Hodgkinson7 & 5Peter Hodgkinson1 UpPeter Hodgkinson
Mark Sturdy
Jason Heathfield4 & 3Jason Heathfield6 & 5Jason Heathfield2 & 1Jason Heathfield
Derrick Sheridan6 & 5Derrick Sheridan
Adam Clayton
Andy Gilford6 & 5Andy Gilford10 &  8Andy Gilford
Barry Ritchie
Roger Cole
Nick Mills1 UpNick Mills

Matchplay Stableford Plate Results

John EakinB331
Derek FieldB229
Mark SturdyB225
Barry RitchieB125
Danny DanielsB219
Jason BastableB317
Bryan RichardsB215
Nick BurrB110
Roger ColeB25
Adam ClaytonB1NR